It is not uncommon for underage young adults and teens to present fake IDs to try to gain entry into a club or bar or to try to purchase alcohol or cigarettes. Typically, the bouncer, restaurant manager, or store clerk will just confiscate the ID and ask the patron to leave. But if he or she calls the authorities, you can get arrested for having a fake ID, which is a felony crime in Florida.
If you or your child was recently arrested for carrying a fake ID, call our criminal defense lawyers at Goldman Wetzel to discuss your next steps: 727-828-3900.
What do Florida laws say about fake IDs?
In an attempt to crack down on people who manufacture fake IDs as well as the amount of underage people getting into adult establishments or purchasing alcohol, the State of Florida created stiff rules regarding unlawful acts related to fraudulent cards.
Florida Statute § 322.212 criminalizes the possession, manufacturing, and display of fraudulent ID cards, including driver’s licenses and other types of identification cards.
The statutes provide, “It is unlawful for any person to knowingly have in his or her possession or to display any blank, forged, stolen, fictitious, counterfeit, or unlawfully issued driver license or identification card or any instrument in the similitude of a driver license or identification card.”
There are several related offences the statutes criminalize; it is not only unlawful to possess a fake ID, but also to:
- Sell, manufacture, or deliver a fraudulent ID
- Barter, trade, sell, or give away any ID
- Agree to supply or to aid in supplying any person with an ID card by any means whatsoever
- Use a false or fictitious name or knowingly make a false statement when applying for a driver license or ID card
- Use a suspended, revoked, or canceled ID
- Possess an ID that has had the date of birth altered
What are the potential penalties for presenting a fake ID in Florida?
Most offenses related to fake IDs are third-degree felonies, which carry potential penalties of five years’ imprisonment and a $5,000 fine.
If you are charged with lying about your date of birth when applying for a driver’s license or carrying an ID with an altered birth date, you face second-degree misdemeanor charges. Penalties include up to 60 days in jail and a $500 fine.
You will also face second-degree misdemeanor charges if you loan someone your ID.
Call a Goldman Wetzel defense lawyer to defend your case.
Is Iphone It X Fake Real Newsflare Or Unboxing What may have seemed like a harmless act can actually result in substantial jail time, fines, and other consequences for your future. You may be unable to get a job because you have a felony on your record. Do not let a fake ID charge ruin your life.
Call a Florida defense lawyer at Goldman Wetzel today to schedule a free consultation to discuss your case as soon as possible: 727-828-3900.